RSS Feed

Posted on

You know, you don’t really appreciate your back yard until you can’t use it for 7 months. After Ivan, there was debris all over and the fences were down. Even after we got the debris cleaned up, we still couldn’t let the girls play back there because of the lack of fences. Then we replaced the roof, so there were shingles and nails all over the place.

Last week I finished the fence, and this weekend I’ve finally gotten all the debris picked up and the yard mowed. The difference was amazing, especially the weight that seemed to be lifted off my shoulders. I didn’t realize how depressing that mess was until it was gone. Rachel and I stood out there tonight and talked about all our dreams and plans for the back yard, back porch, and patio. And now that the back yard is usable for the first time in over half a year, they seem possible.

Comments are closed.

